Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Under a Violet Moon

Having listened to Blackmore’s Night-Under a Violet Moon for an entire month, was completely captivated by what I was hearing! I immediately realized that this album was very different & unique and completely fascinating. The blend of both pop rock with medieval under tones, the song list opens with AVALON which was a gentle, traditional offering that made me think of castles, kings and magic. On the Castles and Dreams track the blending of voices were smooth and layered. The instrumental track completed the first part of the album “ Durch den Wald zum Bach Haus” which was blends of both folk music and renaissance music together for a delightful combination.

Track 7, Gone with the Wind is an action song that takes you on the thrill of the chase. I was pleasantly surprised by the electric guitar solo right in the middle of the song and it left me wanting more. March the Hero Home, the next track, speaks of wars, bravery and a celebration that they are finally over! This one will have you clapping along.

The next instrumental offering has a rather whimsical title “Possum goes to Prague” though rather short at only 1:10 but yet very tasty. Under the Violet Moon the CD’s namesake has the feel of a gypsy camp where there is clapping and dancing around the bonfire and it will having you singing the chorus in no time. The CD finishes with a “Wind in the Willows” and it has the feel of saying good bye with a bright, happy beat that made me smile throughout the entire song.

A completely enjoyable CD, I absolutely recommend adding a Violet Moon to your arsenal of Blackmore’s night collection. Happy listening!

Blackmore's Night: Candice Night (vocals); Ritchie Blackmore (guitar).

Personnel includes: Ritchie Blackmore, Des Geyer Schwazer Haufen, Miri Ben-Ari, Jen Johannsen, Peter Ruth, Alex Alexander, Miguel Cervino, Rachael Birken, John Ford.

Celtic Radio Contributor

Under A Violet Moon

5.0 Stars!

Request Blackmore's Night's Celtic Music Now! Visit Blackmore's Night's website!


Featured Artist

Track List
1. Under A Violet Moon
2. Castles And Dreams
3. Past Time With Good Company
4. Morning Star
5. Avalon
6. Possum Goes To Prague
7. Wind In The Willows
8. Gone With The Wind
9. Beyond The Sunset
10. March The Heroes Home
11. Spanish Nights (I Remember It Well)
12. Catherine Howard's Fate
13. Fool's Gold
14. Durch den Wald zum Bach Haus
15. Now And Then
16. Self Portrait


Bookmark and Share Print Save Talk Email

Post a Comment on this Article:

© Celtic Radio Network
Celtic Radio is a TorontoCast radio station that is based in Canada. TorontoCast provides music license coverage through SOCAN.
Highlander Radio, Celtic Moon, Celtic Dance Tavern, Celt-Rock-Radio, A Celtic Christmas, SaltyDog Radio, Best of Celtic Radio.
All rights and trademarks reserved. Read our Privacy Policy.
Celtic Graphics ©, Cari Buziak

Link to CelticRadio.net!

Link to CelticRadio.net
View Broadcast Status and Statistics!

Best Viewed With MicroSoft Edge, Javascript & Cookies Enabled.

[Home] [Top]