Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Winter Carols Revisited

Festive Holiday songs from a group that changed the face of folk rock, introducing the genre to a wider audience throughout the world

Many classic rock fans will remember famed guitarist Ritchie Blackmore for his work with seminal groups such as Deep Purple and later, Rainbow, a hard rock group with somewhat of a baroque twist.

However, Blackmore’s creativity was far from limited to rock music alone. The artist always had a very special interest in traditional folk music, and his passion for timeless melodies and incredible acoustic instruments came to life with his recent project, “Blackmore’s Night”.

Now that Christmas is coming closer and closer, it’s about time to get in the right mood with the perfect soundtrack - what better than Blackmore’s Night and their fantastic sixth studio album, ‘Winter Carols?”

This particular collection of sounds is, arguably, a Christmas-themed album, and it features 12 new tracks from the band, including their take on beloved traditionals such as “Emmanuel” or even” Hark The Herald Angels Sing / Come All Ye Faithful”, just to mention a few.

The production of the album is beautifully rich and very festive. The opening number has a festive feel to it, with cascading melodies and multiple layers of instruments that add a lot of depth and harmonic weight to these arrangements. Famous musicians are no strangers to Christmas albums: anyone from the mighty Elvis to The Beatles tried their hands at putting their own spin of certain Christmas tunes.

Very few artists, however, managed to capturing the sweet atmosphere and harmonic depths of some of the best traditional winter carols.

The charismatic husband/wife due of Ritchie Blackmore and Candice Night set out to create 12 tracks that are heavily inspired by folk music, yet showcase a more modern sound. It’s quite interesting to hear familiar melodies in this particular context - from hymns to nurse rhymes or popular chants, Blackmore’s Night set out to take the listener on a true emotional journey, which drips Christmas vibes all over the place.

2006 - Winter Carols (Disc 01)

5.0 Stars!

Request Blackmore's Night's Celtic Music Now! Visit Blackmore's Night's website!


Featured Artist

Track List
1. Deck The Halls
2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
3. Oh Christmas Tree
4. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing / O Come All Ye Faithfull
5. I Saw Three Ships
6. Winter (Basse Dance)
7. Ding Dong Merrily On High
8. Ma-O-Tzur
9. Good King Wenceslas
10. Lord Of The Dance / Simple Gifts
11. We Three Kings
12. Wish You Were Here
13. Emmanuel
14. Christmas Eve
15. We Wish You A Merry Christmas


Bookmark and Share Print Save Talk Email

Post a Comment on this Article:

Celtic Radio is a TorontoCast radio station that is based in Canada. TorontoCast provides music license coverage through SOCAN.
© Celtic Radio Network, Highlander Radio, Celtic Moon, Celtic Dance Tavern, Ye O' Celtic Pub, Celt-Rock-Radio.
All rights and trademarks reserved. Read our Privacy Policy.
Celtic Graphics ©, Cari Buziak

Link to CelticRadio.net!

Link to CelticRadio.net
View Broadcast Status and Statistics!

Best Viewed With Chrome (1680 x 1050 Resolution), Javascript & Cookies Enabled.

[Home] [Top]