Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Moya Brennan - Affinity

June 24, 2013 - CelticRadio.net - The ethereal voice of Moya Brennan has been entertaining the public since 1970. The eighteen year old Moya, or Máire Ní Bhraonáin as she was born, started her music career as a part of Clannad a family band made up of her two brothers Pól and Ciarán and their mother's twin brothers Noel and Pádraig Ó Dúgáin. Later joining the band was her younger sister Eithne Ní Bhraonáin, who you may know more commonly as Celtic power artist Enya. Moya recorded 17 albums with Clannad wining a Grammy award as well as a BAFTA, and Ivor Novello.

In 1992 the Dublin, Ireland native released her first solo album entitled “Máire” and the album proved to be a great success. Her many albums that followed have also been hugely popular scoring the Celtic folk singer two Grammy nominations and one Emmy Award. She has also been featured on several soundtracks over the years including James Cameron’s Titanic in 1997 and the 2004 version of King Arthur staring Kiera Knightly.

Brennan has become one of the most identifiable voices of the genre often being called the first lady of Celtic music. Affinity is the second album from the First Lady of Celtic Music, Moya Brennan, and harp virtuoso, Cormac De Barra, in their Voices & Harps collaboration - a partnership combining the simplicity, depth and beauty of the extraordinary skills which make them unique in their own field. They are both well versed in Irish traditional music and language but the new compositions on Affinity also display broader musical influences. Moya's beguiling voice - admired around the world as the Voice of Clannad - and Cormac's mastery of the Irish harp combine beautifully and provide a unifying vehicle for this Voices & Harps album. Both of them boast Irish as their first language so the album includes a number of Gaeilge tunes. However, these manage to sit comfortably alongside, for instance, their new version of Christopher Cross' classic "Sailing" and their genre defying "Worlds Collide." Their first album, Voices & Harps, was released in 2011 and led to the founding of their annual workshop in Donegal, now in its third successful year.

“Voices and Harps” which she also recorded with Irish musician Cormac de Barra was released June 28th 2011 and is closely related to her 2010 album “My Match Is A Makin'” The elegant and soulful voice of Brennan is in complete harmony with Cormac de Barra who she has recorded with and has had a close friendship with over several years. The duo together on “Voices and Harps” is an experience that won’t soon be forgotten. Beautiful harp music and angelic song highlight this album as one of Brennan’s best to date.

Moya is also a well-known philanthropist and advocate for faith. After releasing her autobiography “The Other Side of the Rainbow” in 2000 she revealed the ups and the downs of her life in show business also talking about renewing her Christian faith after suffering from dark times including alcohol, drugs, a divorce, and an abortion. Brennan is Goodwill Ambassador for Christian Blind Mission, which is an international charity in which Brennan travels worldwide with. She has also attended and supported multiple benefits for children, drug rehabilitation, nature, and education, including Amnesty International, Children in Need, and SelfAid.

Moya lives in Dublin, Ireland with her photographer husband Tim Jarvis whom she married in 1991, and children, Aisling and Paul. Her new album “Afinity” which she also recorded with Cormac de Barra is scheduled for US release on June 25th 2013. There is no question that Moya Brennan’s amazing talent will be entertaining us for years to come just as she has done since 1970.


5.0 Stars!

Request Moya Brennan and Cormac De Barra's Celtic Music Now! Visit Moya Brennan and Cormac De Barra's website!

Track List
1. Intro
2. Sailing
3. The Lass Of Aughrim
4. Worlds Collide
5. I Feel You Breathe
6. Cruiscin Lan
7. Captain O'Kane
8. Seoithin Seo
9. Stoirin Rua
10. When The Morning Breaks
11. Ardaigh Cuan
12. Suas Sios


Bookmark and Share Print Save Talk Email

Post a Comment on this Article:

Celtic Radio is a TorontoCast radio station that is based in Canada. TorontoCast provides music license coverage through SOCAN.
© Celtic Radio Network, Highlander Radio, Celtic Moon, Celtic Dance Tavern, Ye O' Celtic Pub, Celt-Rock-Radio.
All rights and trademarks reserved. Read our Privacy Policy.
Celtic Graphics ©, Cari Buziak

Link to CelticRadio.net!

Link to CelticRadio.net
View Broadcast Status and Statistics!

Best Viewed With Chrome (1680 x 1050 Resolution), Javascript & Cookies Enabled.

[Home] [Top]

Celtic Hearts Gallery | Celtic Mates Dating | My Celtic Friends | Celtic Music Radio | Family Heraldry | Medieval Kingdom | Top Celtic Sites | Web Celt Blog | Video Celt