Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )
   Mobile App






Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Linux Question Please Help
Bookmark and Share
scottish2 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 08:59 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 3,048
Joined: 26-Sep-2001
ZodiacBirch








Hi

Some of you have suggested I try Linux and was thinking of trying this on my older IBM just out of curiousity if for no other reason. Now I plan on formating that drive as I have everything I need moved to this system of CD so I can format that drive and no worries. Now I will download the software on this system and burn to CD will this CD automatically run the install when I redo the new system or will I have to go in through DOS and run the program. Could someone give some very simple instructions that even the most novice of user can use in case we have others wanting to try this. I was hoping to make this just a Linux system so no windows is needed unless required to install this. Can some one help please smile.gif

Bare in mind I have never even seen a Linux system before so in a sense I am a novice for this OS.

ALso where is the best site to download and which version? Was looking the Linux site over and seems like they have different versions for different uses. I plan on just using this as a test system that would be a normal system nothing fancy smacy just for normal usage. Can you send a link with what file to download if there are multiple choices.
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:30 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





QUOTE (scottish2 @ Jan 13 2004, 08:59 AM)
Hi

Some of you have suggested I try Linux and was thinking of trying this on my older IBM just out of curiousity if for no other reason. Now I plan on formating that drive as I have everything I need moved to this system of CD so I can format that drive and no worries. Now I will download the software on this system and burn to CD will this CD automatically run the install when I redo the new system or will I have to go in through DOS and run the program. Could someone give some very simple instructions that even the most novice of user can use in case we have others wanting to try this. I was hoping to make this just a Linux system so no windows is needed unless required to install this. Can some one help please smile.gif

Bare in mind I have never even seen a Linux system before so in a sense I am a novice for this OS.

ALso where is the best site to download and which version? Was looking the Linux site over and seems like they have different versions for different uses. I plan on just using this as a test system that would be a normal system nothing fancy smacy just for normal usage. Can you send a link with what file to download if there are multiple choices.

Try Mandrake Linux @ http://www.linux-mandrake.com/en/ftp.php3#iso. Download the ISO images ( there are three) of Mandrake 9.2 (current stable release) to your WIndows system( create a separate folder) and then burn each ISO image to a CD-R/CD-RW. Each ISO image will just about fill the CD. Make sure you label each one carefully. Power up your old system you saild you were going to use and put the first CD in and reboot off that CD. Once you have booted off the first CD, there wiil be an installation GUI interface. Surf around the Mandrake site and there are some screen shots of the installation. There are many Linux distros (distributions), but Mandrake, Red Hat and Suse. I tried Mandrake 9.2 recently and I liked it. Get this much done, and I will be happy to help you install/tweak it. Need help downloading let me know.

Seawarrior

cool.gif


--------------------
I will defend my country, its borders, my home, my family at all costs, with any weapon, pre-emptive or otherwise to make my enemy bow to its knees to insure my enemy will never attack my homeland ever again. - unknown

One ought never to turn one's back on a threatened danger and try to run away from it. If you do that, you will double the danger. But if you meet it promptly and without flinching, you will reduce the danger by half.
Sir Winston Churchill
PMEmail Poster               
Top
scottish2 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:33 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 3,048
Joined: 26-Sep-2001
ZodiacBirch








Do I need to do the drive format before rebooting or will the install do this for me?
PMEmail Poster               
Top
scottish2 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:38 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 3,048
Joined: 26-Sep-2001
ZodiacBirch








Also which files? When I click the no I will register soon take me to download page I get the following list. I see 2 listed for 9.2 and only one of these has ISO image the 3rd one unsure if it is part of this or not. What 3 files do I need? As I said new to this so want to make sure I get right file(s)

QUOTE
Download:

Mandrake 9.2/i586
Mandrake 9.2/i586 ISO Image
MandrakeMove/i586 ISO Image
Mandrake 7.1/SPARC/UltraSPARC ISO Image
Mandrake 7.1/AXP ISO Image
Mandrake 7.0/IA64/SPARC/Alpha ISO Image
Mandrake IA64 | Mandrake 9.1/PPC
MandrakeSecurity Multi Network Firewall
Older Mandrake versions
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:39 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





Here is a sample of what a FTP download site will look like.
ftp://ftp.tux.org/pub/distributions/mandrake/iso/
Notice the 3 Mandrake 9.2 ISOs cd1,cd2 cd3. It an FTP site is busy, try another one until you find one that will give you a reasonably fast download.
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:40 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





QUOTE (scottish2 @ Jan 13 2004, 09:38 AM)
Also which files? When I click the no I will register soon take me to download page I get the following list. I see 2 listed for 9.2 and only one of these has ISO image the 3rd one unsure if it is part of this or not. What 3 files do I need? As I said new to this so want to make sure I get right file(s)

QUOTE
Download:

Mandrake 9.2/i586
Mandrake 9.2/i586 ISO Image
MandrakeMove/i586 ISO Image
Mandrake 7.1/SPARC/UltraSPARC ISO Image
Mandrake 7.1/AXP ISO Image
Mandrake 7.0/IA64/SPARC/Alpha ISO Image
Mandrake IA64 | Mandrake 9.1/PPC
MandrakeSecurity Multi Network Firewall
Older Mandrake versions

If you are installing on an old IBM PC, use Mandrake 9.2/i586 ISO Image
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:48 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





QUOTE (scottish2 @ Jan 13 2004, 09:33 AM)
Do I need to do the drive format before rebooting or will the install do this for me?

Once you boot off the 1st CD, it will completed format your hardrive, not immediately, but a few steps later. You will asked questions like, mouse config, time config. etc. I don't remember the exact sequence.
PMEmail Poster               
Top
scottish2 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:49 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 3,048
Joined: 26-Sep-2001
ZodiacBirch








Question I am on highspeed and how long should this take to transfer from web to my system? For some reason it is saying about 1 day IE 24 hours roughly to download. This sound right? NOw wondering if it is as you did say the info would fill 3 CD's so...
PMEmail Poster               
Top
scottish2 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:50 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 3,048
Joined: 26-Sep-2001
ZodiacBirch








QUOTE (Seawarrior @ Jan 13 2004, 09:48 AM)
Once you boot off the 1st CD, it will completed format your hardrive, not immediately, but a few steps later. You will asked questions like, mouse config, time config. etc. I don't remember the exact sequence.

OK cool. I did notice there were a couple extra files where do I put these? looks mostly like a read me file and one or two other files.
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:56 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





QUOTE (scottish2 @ Jan 13 2004, 09:49 AM)
Question I am on highspeed and how long should this take to transfer from web to my system? For some reason it is saying about 1 day IE 24 hours roughly to download. This sound right? NOw wondering if it is as you did say the info would fill 3 CD's so...

Try another FTP site. That site you mentioned apparently is very busy. Try another site. The time it takes depends on your connection and how busy the site is. Some of this sites are kinda busy during the day, mostly students. Yes, it could take a day, but try another site. Mandrake has about 20 or so "mirror" sites to download from in the US
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 09:59 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





QUOTE (scottish2 @ Jan 13 2004, 09:50 AM)
OK cool. I did notice there were a couple extra files where do I put these? looks mostly like a read me file and one or two other files.

Just the ISOs that says Mandrake92-cd1xxxx, cd2xxxx cd3xxxx
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Seawarrior 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 10:00 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 29
Joined: 31-Dec-2003
ZodiacIvy

Realm: NC

male





QUOTE (Seawarrior @ Jan 13 2004, 09:59 AM)
Just the ISOs that says Mandrake92-cd1xxxx, cd2xxxx cd3xxxx

Yeah, you can open up the README file a print it out if you like and keep it handy
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Aon_Daonna 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 10:01 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



The Wolf Lady
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 2,966
Joined: 06-Apr-2002
ZodiacIvy

Realm: Fife, Scotland

female





I personally never used Mandrake

Seawarrior explained it well, so I couldn't add anything... happy.gif I'll add things when I can but I'll gladly leave it to those whose english is better than mine smile.gif


--------------------
Moderator: The Playground (RPG)

Carpe Jugulum
Carved with a twisted smile
An epitaph for sorrow
Sethian - Epitaph

If anybody wants a costum signature, pm me!
PMEmail Poster               
Top
scottish2 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 10:02 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 3,048
Joined: 26-Sep-2001
ZodiacBirch








Well if it might take a day anyways will just keep it going so I don't have to restart. But hey compared to dial up it would have taken me 3 days at minimum to do it on dial up and that would be providing I could keep a good rate which would mean I couldn't be posting or doing anything else at least I can do other things on-line at same time now laugh.gif like try and stay ahead of Aon LOL laugh.gif
PMEmail Poster               
Top
Danann 
Posted: 13-Jan-2004, 10:05 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
********

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 526
Joined: 02-Dec-2003
ZodiacHolly

Realm: Alabama

female





Had to put my oar in. I have been using LINUX for a long time, and I think that Mandrake also has the best release right now, but if you are used to being a windows junky, you might see things more familiar with RedHat, but I don't know if they are still doing free downloads. I get my stuff supplied for me from the government since I am a developer and security admin for them.

The LINUX downloads are very popular, especially after a new release, which just happened not too long ago in Mandrake's case. Its not unusual for it to take several days to download. I would see if you can download faster elsewhere, but keep your current one moving, so that you don't lose your place in that queue just in case.


--------------------
So, I have an new site that is pretty neat, Check out Dannah's Home Page

Also, for original storys or thoughts from me, check out my blog: Dannah's Blog
PMEmail PosterUsers Website               
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 








Celtic RadioTM broadcasts through Live365.com and StreamLicensing.com which are officially licensed under SoundExchange, ASCAP, BMI, SESAC and SOCAN.
2014 Celtic Radio Network, Highlander Radio, Celtic Moon, Celtic Dance, Ye O' Celtic Pub and Celt-Rock-Radio.
All rights and trademarks reserved. Read our Privacy Policy.
Celtic Graphics 2014, Cari Buziak


Link to CelticRadio.net!
Link to CelticRadio.net
View Broadcast Status and Statistics!

Best Viewed With IE 8.0 (1680 x 1050 Resolution), Javascript & Cookies Enabled.


[Home] [Top]

Celtic Hearts Gallery | Celtic Mates Dating | My Celtic Friends | Celtic Music Radio | Family Heraldry | Medival Kingdom | Top Celtic Sites | Web Celt Blog | Video Celt