Taliesin's Journal

Index -> Journal-> GAH!!! Laptop problems...this is a good one!

Journal Entry

Add Entry   

GAH!!! Laptop problems...this is a good one!
Posted by sir_tal on Nov 3rd, 2004 6:50 PM
So here's what happened.

Sunday - 10am: I turned my laptop on, expecting a couple of hours of homework before I put my CD/DVD shelves together. However, when I turned my laptop on, the screen backlight wasn't working. I could see that the computer was displaying graphics, but with no light on behind the screen, I couldn't see it that well. This happened once before, but it started working again 20 minutes later, so I know this panel is faulty. I'm an IT Professional, so I took the blasted thing apart and put it back together. (A technique that has worked with many a laptop screen.) Didn't work. Took it back apart and checked all the wires. Everything seemed to be plugged in pretty securely, and when I turned it back on (before putting it back together), it still didn't work. So now I had to call HP tech support.