Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Using Dial Up Access W/ An Accelerator Program, can cause stranges things to happen
Bookmark and Share
MacEoghainn 
Posted: 06-Dec-2005, 06:57 PM
Quote Post

Member is Offline





Fear-leanmhainn an Rėgh
Group Icon

Group: Founder
Posts: 2,949
Joined: 18-Jan-2004
ZodiacHazel

Realm: Cape Coral, Florida, USA, Planet Earth

male





I was reminded just moments ago that running an accelerator program on a dial up connection can cause some weird errors to occur (I'm using AT&T 56k dial up running their free accelerator add-on software). It made a whole thread in the Politics Live forum give me the dreaded Windows "Page not found error". When I turned off the the AT&T accelerator the thread magically reappeared.

So if you're running any of those aftermarket/add-on software programs and strange things start happening, before you fire off a PM to Macfive, Mrs. Macfive, Aaediwen, or any one of the moderators, be sure to turn these programs off and try again (like I've never Pm'd before I checked before rolleyes.gif angel_not.gif )

MacE smile.gif


--------------------
MacE
AKA
Steve Ewing

I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. Job 19:25

"Non sibi sed patriae!"

Reviresco (I grow strong again)
Clan MacEwen motto

Audaciter (Audacity)
My Ewing Family Motto
(descendants of Baron William Ewing of Glasgow, born about 1630)

"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." Abraham Lincoln

"Igitur qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum." from "Epitoma Rei Militaris," by Vegetius

PMEmail PosterUsers Website My Photo Album               
Top
Aaediwen 
Posted: 06-Dec-2005, 07:57 PM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3,061
Joined: 09-Oct-2003
ZodiacHolly

Realm: Kentucky

male





Interesting to hear. Personally I have never been convinced from a technical standpoint that such programs could be any good. Basically in order to improve transmission times over a link of fixed bandwidth, you can either compress the data or cut some of it out. Since any analog dial-up link over 9600bps is already compressed I'm willing to trust the guys comming up with the V specs have done the best as can be to speed things up without losing data or doing something else evil.


--------------------
Poet and seeker of knowledge



Mountain Legacy -- Born in the isles, raised in Appalachia
PMEmail Poster My Photo Album               View My Space Profile.
Top
SCShamrock 
Posted: 07-Dec-2005, 12:22 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline





Confirmed Daydreamer
Group Icon

Group: Ireland
Posts: 1,169
Joined: 22-May-2004
ZodiacVine

Realm: Gamecock Country

male





Accelerator programs do indeed cut corners. They remove clarity from pictures by reducing pixels in order to make page load times faster. So yes, there are strange things that happen--at least they look strange.


--------------------
The peculiar evil of silencing the expression of an opinion is, that it is robbing the human race; posterity as well as the existing generation; those who dissent from the opinion, still more than those who hold it. If the opinion is right, they are deprived of the opportunity of exchanging error for truth: if wrong, they lose, what is almost as great a benefit, the clearer perception and livelier impression of truth, produced by its collision with error. ~John Stuart Mill, On Liberty, 1859

Education: that which reveals to the wise, and conceals from the stupid, the vast limits of their knowledge.
~Mark Twain
PMEmail Poster               
Top
OBH 
Posted: 08-Dec-2005, 10:30 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Servant
**

Group: Celtic Nation
Posts: 42
Joined: 14-May-2005
ZodiacOak

Realm: Abbeville, LA

male





I've tried the MSN and the BellSouth accelerators and they both degrade the graphics and actually slow Opera down. They do speed up loading with IE but accelerated IE is still slower than Opera un-accelerated. I haven't tried them with Firefox because I rarely use Firefox. Opera uses cashed images to speed up page loading and only download images that have changed in a reloaded page. To me, that makes more sense than degrading all the images


--------------------
user posted image
PMEmail Poster               
Top
subhuman 
Posted: 08-Dec-2005, 11:07 AM
Quote Post

Member is Offline



Celtic Guardian
Group Icon

Group: Scotland
Posts: 418
Joined: 16-Oct-2005
ZodiacWillow

Realm: 127.0.0.1

male





The slowdown under opera makes sense if you think about it. You have full-quality pages cached on your machine, and once the accelerator is enabled you're downloading the new, degraded images instead of using the non-degraded cached images.


--------------------
I have two modes: wiseass and dumbass. Mode is determined by current blood alcohol level.

Drinking is a sport. In order to be competitive, you must practice on a regular basis. Although you can practice alone, it is much more fun to practice with friends. If you're out of shape and practice too hard, you will regret it the next day.

Life is a disease. It is sexually transmitted and always terminal.
PMEmail Poster               
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 








Celtic RadioTM broadcasts through Live365.com and StreamLicensing.com which are officially licensed under SoundExchange, ASCAP, BMI, SESAC and SOCAN.
Š2014 Celtic Radio Network, Highlander Radio, Celtic Moon, Celtic Dance, Ye O' Celtic Pub and Celt-Rock-Radio.
All rights and trademarks reserved. Read our Privacy Policy.
Celtic Graphics Š2014, Cari Buziak


Link to CelticRadio.net!
Link to CelticRadio.net
View Broadcast Status and Statistics!

Best Viewed With IE 8.0 (1680 x 1050 Resolution), Javascript & Cookies Enabled.


[Home] [Top]

Celtic Hearts Gallery | Celtic Mates Dating | My Celtic Friends | Celtic Music Radio | Family Heraldry | Medival Kingdom | Top Celtic Sites | Web Celt Blog | Video Celt