Richard Bercot 
Posted: 01-Oct-2003, 12:11 AM
Quote Post

House of Hardy
Group Icon

Group: Ireland
ZodiacAsh

male

[FONT=Times][SIZE=7][COLOR=blue]Hello everyone This my first time on so I guess I am a rookie. My name is Richard Bercot and I have a wee bit of the Scotts and Irish in me. My love for music is mostly folk and on occasion perform in public.
I have been listening to Celtic music for a long time now, but to get to my subject. Along time ago I heard a song from an old album called "TWEED WALKING SONG", it was sang by several women in Gaelic accompanied by a single drum. If anyone out there could help me find this album I would truly be grateful.

"For every day you fish, you will live another day"

--------------------
May your days be filled with Merriment and May you walk in Balance with Creator.

"For every day you fish, you live another day"
PMEmail Poster                
Catriona 
Posted: 01-Oct-2003, 05:33 AM
Quote Post

Banned Member

Group: Celtic Nation
ZodiacBirch

Hello, Richard - I think you mean 'Waulking' songs biggrin.gif

These are the traditional songs when women used to 'waulk' or 'full' or 'fuller' the cloth..... I remember learning a number when I was at school (a long time ago now!)

Here's a site which may help you find the very song you are looking for!

http://www.houseofscotland.org/waulking.html
PMEmail Poster               
Richard Bercot 
  Posted: 01-Oct-2003, 11:23 AM
Quote Post

House of Hardy
Group Icon

ZodiacAsh

male

Thank you Catriona for your reply and the correction of "Waulking". The sight you referred me to might help me located the song I am looking for.
Probably the reason I errored in "Walking" instead of "Waulking" is that I am a Singer and Drummer for the Shawnee Nation, United Remnant Band and we have Walking Songs ones that was used for traveling. Like those of the Waulking Songs our Walking Songs use a lot of vocables.
Thank you again and merriment to you.
Richard