> Celtic Art
CelticRoz 
Posted: 06-Dec-2003, 02:20 PM
Quote Post

Roz

Group: Celtic Nation
ZodiacAlder

female

As an artist, I have been particularly interested in the genre of Celtic art of all forms. The paintings, jewelry, knotwork, etc. There are many books that can be found through Amazon.com, but I found a few links that had a little of everything that I found interesting. One site even had a few prints to show from the Book of Kells, which is a very rare find as in most cases, as it is not permitted to photograph these beautiful pieces of artwork.

http://www.celtic-art.net

http://www.aon-celtic.com

http://www.stone-circles.org.uk

In my findings on the net, I came across this one site that mentioned that the proper pronounciation of Celtic was Celtic NOT Keltic. I have never heard that before. Is anyone here aware of the true pronounciation of the word? I always thought it pronounced with a C not a K.

PMEmail PosterMy Photo Album               
AShruleEgan 
Posted: 06-Dec-2003, 02:31 PM
Quote Post

Celtic Guardian
Group Icon

Group: Ireland
ZodiacRowan

Realm: Winston-Salem, North Carolina

male

Webster's New World Dictionary

Celt (kelt; also selt) A person who speaks a Celtic language or a descendant of such a person: the Bretons, Irish, Welsh, and Highland Scots are Celts.
PMEmail Poster               
Keltic 
Posted: 06-Dec-2003, 02:49 PM
Quote Post

Celtic Guardian

ZodiacWillow

Realm: Ottawa, Ontario  Canada

male

One site even had a few prints to show from the Book of Kells, which is a very rare find as in most cases, as it is not permitted to photograph these beautiful pieces of artwork.

Celticrose:

I hope that proving you to be wrong in this assumption makes you happy as an art lover!!

Book of Kells on CD

--------------------
PMEmail Poster               
CelticRoz 
Posted: 06-Dec-2003, 04:03 PM
Quote Post

Roz

ZodiacAlder

female