Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Newton, Kansas USA Greetings, Introducing myself.
ckalr 
Posted: 25-May-2007, 11:59 PM
Quote Post

Peasant

Group: Celtic Nation
ZodiacAsh

male

Hello,

My name is Ted Clark, and I just joined the community this evening. I am 38 years of age, living in Newton, Kansas, USA (just North of Wichita, Kansas) with my wife of nearly 10 years, and our dog, Zach. I love Celtic music in almost all forms, which is what drew me to this site. I am a graduate student, attending Friends University in Wichita, Kansas, entering the second half of the required coursework. I am not completely sure of my family's heritage, but some within my family believe we descend from Scotland, connected to Clan Chattan (possibly MacPherson, as sept), while others within the family dismiss any Scot connection as hogwash, claiming strictly English heritage. I choose to believe we are Scots, but have no degree of proof. My wife descends from Irish Malones, among other things.
Comments and/or questions are welcome!
PMEmail Poster               
Sekhmet 
Posted: 26-May-2007, 01:31 AM
Quote Post

Celtic Guardian

ZodiacAlder

Realm: Pittsburgh-ish, Pennsylvania

female

Welcome, Ted! Hope you enjoy your stay here. Post away, the water's fine!

With a surname as common as Clark, it really could have come from anywhere in the UK, and I seem to recall a couple German surnames being anglicized to Clark. The only way to really find out is to make the trace back and see where it leads you. When did your family fall off the boat? Any idea? It might give you an idea of where you came from, but your family may have gone to England for awhile before emigrating. Which is the case with my family...well...one of the branches at any rate.
PMEmail Poster               View My Space Profile.
haynes9 
Posted: 26-May-2007, 08:39 PM
Quote Post

Celtic Guardian
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
ZodiacElder