Posted: 05-Oct-2004, 10:22 AM
Quote Post

Celtic Guardian
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
ZodiacHolly

Realm: Kentucky

male

ok, I started trying to harp and preach Linux in CR's thread, so here's a spot to try and show off a bit. I've been using Linux since 1998. I swear by it. and here's why:

lunatic@lugh: ~#ls -l /bin/install
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 411770 Oct 26 2002 /bin/install
lunatic@lugh: ~#ls -l /sbin/init

I built this system from source per www.linuxfromscratch.org on the date shown. Since then I've changed out motherboard and processor twice (had to reinstall Windows both times, yes this machine dual boots)

I've also upgraded my hard drive at least as many times. The last time I upgraded it, I also had some serious filesystem corruption which rendered both systems unable to boot for a couple days. I had, again, to reinstall Windows. But I was able to recover my old LFS and it's running happily smile.gif

74 days since the last power failre caused a reboot of my server (which to be fair, was only migrated to LFS 5 in Feb. I've only managed to hose a Linux system one time since 1998, due to a dirty shutdown. With a larger UPS, I'm sure I could get some real uptimes going around here. How often do you hear Windows users talking about uptime? They don't have it. A world where reboots and reinstalls are a fact of life is wrong. We should be able to rely on a computer more than that.

I've heard stories of Novell uptimes measured in years, and although the longest I've heard for Linux is one year, I'm convinced it could do better.