RedPop4 
Posted: 29-Jan-2009, 03:17 PM
Quote Post

Peasant

Group: Celtic Nation
ZodiacReed

Realm: Metropolitan New Orleans

male

Since I don't see just a single thread, I guess I must start a thread to introduce myself.

Hello, all.
I"m RedPop from greater New Orleans, I've been listening to Highlander Radio on Live365 since July of 2004, when I got a job where I had my own office and could listen to music without disturbing an entire library (which is my weekly profession.)

I'm a Church musician, I play the organ on weekends; husband, father, friend to a few who'll have me.

I've been enthralled with Celtic music since that fateful night, not sure of the date, long about 1985 when I wandered into Ryan's Irish Pub, then on Bourbon Street and St. Louis in New Orleans to the tunes of the Celtic Folk: Patrick O'Flaherty, Danny O'Flaherty and Noel Nash. Things change, the O'Flaherty's eventually opened their own outstanding pub but marriage and other constraints (mostly financial) kept me from continuing the traditions, but the music never left me.

O'Flaherty's Irish Channel was badly damaged by Hurricane Katrina, and will likely never be, again. But Danny O'Flaherty has many friends here, and returns at least twice a month or more. But I have Highlander Radio to soothe the savage beast during the workday.

I also edit an online cigars and lifestyle magazine Cigar Weekly and I moderate the forums there, as well. We like to think we have something special going. I like to wear a nice hat most days, I sometimes read and post about that, as well. You'll hold me excused if I occasionally post links to articles on CW? I'm rather proud of our magazine whose writers all hail from the ranks of our community members.